Skip to main content

0800 917 1000   Open weekdays 9am-5pm

Who we are

The Chair

The Chair of the Inquiry is Prof. Alexis Jay OBE. She sets the direction of the Inquiry and makes decisions about how the Inquiry will work.

The Panel

The Chair is assisted by a Panel of three members: Prof. Sir Malcolm Evans KCMG OBE; Ivor Frank; and Drusilla Sharpling CBE. Each is an expert in his or her field and has experience in challenging institutions, and managing, analysing and evaluating complex evidence.

The Legal Team

Counsel to the Inquiry is Brian Altman QC.

Solicitor to the Inquiry is Martin Smith of Fieldfisher.

The Secretariat

Secretary to the Inquiry is John O'Brien.

The Victims and Survivors' Consultative Panel

A seven member Victims and Survivors’ Consultative Panel has been set up to assist and advise the Inquiry on all aspects of its work. The seven members of this panel will be closely involved in the work of the Inquiry, providing advice and guidance to the Chair and Panel. The panel comprises May Baxter-Thornton, Sheila Coates, Lucy Duckworth, Emma Lewis, Fay Maxted, Chris Tuck, and Kit Shellam. The panel members bring a wealth of experience providing support and advocacy for victims and survivors of child sexual abuse.

The Victims and Survivors' Forum

The Inquiry has established a Victims and Survivors' Forum. Any victim or survivor who wishes to be part of the Forum will be able to register to be a member and receive updates on the work of the Inquiry. The Inquiry will arrange for the Forum to have open public meetings four times a year. Those wanting to join the Forum should send an email marked ‘Victims and Survivors Forum’ to


The Inquiry's research work is overseen by the Research Steering Group, chaired by Panel member Professor Sir Malcolm Evans KCMG OBE.

The Victims and Survivors' Consultative Panel

A Victims and Survivors Consultative Panel assists and advises the Inquiry on all aspects of its work.

Back to top