Skip to main content

0800 917 1000   Open weekdays 9am-5pm

IICSA Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse

The Roman Catholic Church (EBC) Case Study: Ealing Abbey and St Benedict’s School Investigation Report

Annex 3: Acronyms


Ampleforth Abbey Trust

AAT is a parent trust. It owns all the buildings and property of Ampleforth Abbey, and is concerned with the running of the monastery and Abbey.[1]


Catholic Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales

CBC is the official, permanent assembly of Catholic Bishops in England and Wales made up of the archbishops, bishops and auxiliary bishops of the 22 Catholic dioceses, together with some others.[2]


Congregations of the Doctrine of the Faith

CDF is one of the congregations of the Roman Curia. Its responsibilities include promoting safeguarding and exercising its judicial function.[3]


Congregation for the Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life

CICLSAL is the office of the Vatican which is responsible for supervising the different religious communities in the Catholic Church.[4]


Catholic Office for the Protection of Children and Vulnerable Adults

Recommendation 16 of the Nolan report led to the establishment of the COPCA in 2002.[5] This organisation was replaced by the Catholic Safeguarding Advisory Service (see CSAS).


Catholic Safeguarding Advisory Service

CSAS is the national agency for driving and supporting improvements in safeguarding practice within the Catholic Church in England and Wales.[6] This organisation replaced COPCA from 1 July 2008 on the basis of recommendation 3 of the Cumberlege report,[7] and is responsible for implementation, training and advice.[8]


Disclosure and Barring Service

The DBS replaced the Criminal Records Bureau (CRB) and the Independent Safeguarding Authority (ISA) in 2012. The DBS carries out criminal record checks that result in DBS certificates being issued to an individual. Employers can then ask to see this certificate to ensure that they are recruiting suitable people into their organisation. There are currently three levels of criminal record check: basic, standard and enhanced.[9]


Department for Education

The DfE is responsible for children’s services and education, including early years, schools, higher and further education policy, apprenticeships and wider skills in England. Its responsibilities include teaching and learning for children in the early years and in primary schools and secondary schools.[10] It replaced the Department of Education and Science (DES) in 1992, then became the Department for Education and Employment (DfEE) in 1995, then the Department for Education and Skills (DfES) in 2001, then the Department for Children Schools and Families (DCSF) in 2007, before becoming the Department for Education again in 2010.


Independent Schools Inspectorate

The ISI undertakes inspections of independent schools against statutory standards, and publishes reports following those inspections.[11]


Local Authority Designated Officer

Their role is to give advice, liaise with other agencies and investigate allegations on behalf of the local authority.


No further action

When the police determines that no further action is necessary or possible to be taken when investigating potentially criminal matters.[12]


Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills

Ofsted is a non-ministerial government department which inspects and regulates services that care for children and young people, and services providing education and skills.[13]


St Laurence Education Trust[14]

Ampleforth School has been run by a separate educational trust, the SLET, since 1997.[15] It is a wholly owned subsidiary trust of the Ampleforth Abbey Trust. The SLET and its trustees are responsible for the governance of both Ampleforth College and St Martin’s Ampleforth.[16]


St Martin’s Ampleforth

In 2001, Ampleforth College Junior School merged with St Martin’s, a small local preparatory school eight miles away in Nawton, becoming St Martin’s Ampleforth.[17]

Back to top