Skip to main content

IICSA published its final Report in October 2022. This website was last updated in January 2023.

About the Inquiry

The Chair

The Chair of the Inquiry was Prof. Alexis Jay OBE. Professor Jay set the direction of the Inquiry and made decisions about how the Inquiry worked.

The Panel

The Chair was assisted by a Panel of three members: Prof. Sir Malcolm Evans KCMG OBE; Ivor Frank; and Drusilla Sharpling CBE. Each an expert in his or her field with experience in challenging institutions, and managing, analysing and evaluating complex evidence.

The Legal Team

Counsel to the Inquiry was Brian Altman QC.

Solicitor to the Inquiry was Martin Smith of Fieldfisher.

The Secretariat

Secretary to the Inquiry was John O'Brien.

The Victims and Survivors' Consultative Panel

A seven member Victims and Survivors’ Consultative Panel was established to assist and advise the Inquiry on all aspects of its work. The seven members of this panel were closely involved in the work of the Inquiry, providing advice and guidance to the Chair and Panel. The panel comprised; May Baxter-Thornton, Sheila Coates, Lucy Duckworth, Emma Lewis, Fay Maxted, Chris Tuck, and Kit Shellam. The panel members brought a wealth of experience providing support and advocacy for victims and survivors of child sexual abuse.


The Inquiry's research work was overseen by the Research Steering Group, chaired by Panel member Professor Sir Malcolm Evans KCMG OBE.

The Victims and Survivors' Consultative Panel

A Victims and Survivors Consultative Panel assisted and advised the Inquiry on all aspects of its work.

Back to top